Durban: Sun, sun, and more sun

I’m not claiming that I have seen even a fraction of the world’s beaches. I have seen a few in Europe (Northern Italy, Monaco, Barcelona), Asia (Vietnam and Thailand), and a few closer to home like Mozambique; but I have to maintain that I absolutely love beaches here at home. In December my best friend and I spent two days to recuperate from the wedding fatigue after our mutual friend’s wedding in Richards Bay. We spend the two days in Umhlamga Rocks, 15 minutes from the King Shaka International Airport in Durban. Those two days were all that I needed for my healing; sun, lots of sun. Cool water. Food. Cold drinks.

umhlanga beach
umhlanga beach

Sun, sun, sun…mmmhh!

IMG_2829
umhlanga beach
IMG_2820
lighthouse at umhlanga beach

A place I call home. Sun, blue skies, cool Indian ocean water. What more could a girl want. I love it here!

IMG_2813
beach property at umhlanga

What I would do to have an apartment here!

IMG_2808
raspberry and rum

If the sun gets too much for you, or you need to fill up after a day surfing, jet-skiing, scuba diving, deep-sea fishing, dolphin watching, or whatever else you can get up to here, then restaurants are less than 5 minutes walk away from the beach. Our waiter insisted on the summer special, raspberry and rum. More eating and shopping options available at Gateway Mall  five minutes drive from the beach.

IMG_0190
civil twilight

In the evening I was treated to a spectacular performance of SA born, US-based, band Civil Twilight on their SA tour at Live-The Venue. Worth checking out the website if you’re in Durban for great, intimate performances.

Durban is a  great place to visit for whatever your holiday needs, whether it be water sporting (even in winter), relaxed and laid back holidaying, or cultural experience of the rich Zulu and Indian cultures co-existing in the province.

Leave a Reply

